Scholarship Program

Scholarship applications are emailed to
High School principals in January.

On April 5, 2022, five West Virginia high school students were selected by the Board of Directors of the West Virginia Secondary School Activities Commission to receive $1,000.00 higher education scholarships. The recipients were selected from 35 applicants throughout the State of West Virginia and represent the five administrative districts of the WVSSAC.

The winners were:

  • District 1 – Franchesca Alvaro – Robert C. Byrd High School
  • District 2 – Audrey Williams – Philip Barbour High School
  • District 3 – Jalynn Browning – Scott High School
  • District 4 – Jackson Sanders – Lincoln County High School
  • District 5 – Jakobey Meadows – James Monroe High School

The candidates for the scholarships were judged on character, leadership, participation, citizenship, scholarship, and financial need. In order to apply, they needed at least a 2.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and a minimum ACT composite score of 16. Only sons and daughters of coaches, bandmasters, activities directors, athletic directors, or administrators were eligible for this scholarship. The recipient must have participated in a minimum of two different activities sponsored by the WVSSAC during the 6th and 7th semesters of enrollment in a WVSSAC member school.

The Scholarship Program is one of two programs sponsored by the West Virginia Secondary School Activities Commission to honor academic achievement by students involved in extracurricular activities.